Seventeen Students Selected for Inaugural Honors Program at SWOSU

Seventeen students have been selected to be in Southwestern Oklahoma State University’s inaugural honors program that will be launched this fall on the Weatherford campus. The students were chosen for the program in a selective application process with minimum requirements being a score of 28 or higher on the ACT and a 3.5 or higher grade point average in high school.

Members of the first class are:

  • Abbagale L. Bond- Edmond (Memorial)
  • Darby S. Bryce- Blanchard (Bridge Creek)
  • Andres L. Cifuentes- Clinton
  • Morgan B. Corona- Oklahoma City (PC North)
  • Sarah B. Crone- Claremore
  • Ashna Dhoonmoon- Long Mountain, Mauritas
  • Elizabeth A. Finch- Geary
  • Kenneth R. Kemp (Riley)-Davis
  • Paxton W McCormick- Hobart
  • Rebecca A. Miller- Edmond (North)
  • Benjamin G. Pham- Tulsa
  • Ashley Powers- Loco
  • Lily R. Schwemley- Yukon
  • Aline Shrestha- Lilitpur, Nepal
  • Lana E. Spandley- Altus
  • Jaxon L. Taylor- Mustang
  • Andrea M. Thomas- Broken Bow

The program is an opportunity for qualified students to experience the challenges and advantages of higher education at a more advanced level, according to Dr. Andrea Holgado, co-director of the SWOSU Honors Program. She said the program will strive to push students to academic excellence as well as providing them with the option of post-graduate education, service learning and opportunities to study abroad.

SWOSU will host a summer bridge program for the students on June 14-26. The program will be a camp-like experience where students work on different types of projects as well as take part in fun activities. For more information about the SWOSU Honors Program, call 580.774.6728 or visit