Dr. Dennis Thompson Resigns as Dean of the SWOSU College of Pharmacy

Dr. Dennis ThompsonDr. Dennis F. Thompson, who has served as Dean of the College of Pharmacy (COP) at Southwestern Oklahoma State University in Weatherford since January 2012, has resigned as Dean effective at the end of the 2015 fall semester.

His plans are to return as a full-time faculty member in the COP.

Thompson has been on the faculty of the SWOSU College of Pharmacy since 1992, serving as the assistant dean for clinical programs and associate dean for clinical programs. He was named interim dean of the COP in March 2011 before being named dean in 2012.

“SWOSU appreciates the effective leadership provided by Dr. Thompson,” SWOSU President Randy Beutler said. “During his tenure, the COP has made great progress and was successfully re-accredited by the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education.”

SWOSU Provost and Academic Vice President Dr. James South said the university will immediately begin an extensive national search for a dean.