SWOSU President to be Inducted into Western Oklahoma Hall of Fame

President Randy BeutlerSouthwestern Oklahoma State University President Randy Beutler is one of four individuals who will be inducted into the Western Oklahoma Hall of Fame during a November 10 banquet in Elk City.

Beutler, the 17th president of SWOSU, will be inducted along with Richard L. “Dick” Dugger, Sage Kimzey and Ted Kimzey.

The 43rd annual WOHF Hall of Fame banquet will be held at 7 p.m. at the Elk City United Methodist Church. A social hour/original art show will begin the evening at 6 p.m. Tickets are $20 and can be reserved by sending a check to: WOHF, P.O. Box 542, Elk City OK 73648. No tickets will be sold at the door.

Each year WOHF nominees are honored for bringing attention to, preserving the heritage of, or providing a more prosperous future for western Oklahoma. 

Before coming to SWOSU in 2010, Beutler served as legislative liaison to the House of Representatives for Governor Brad Henry. He is a former state representative from District 60 (the Elk City area where he was born and raised on a ranch north of Elk). The Canute High School and SWOSU graduate was reelected three times without opposition and served until 2000. 

Former SWOSU President John Hays hired Beutler to work at the university in 2006. He assisted with external affairs, legislative matters, grant development and developed the President’s Leadership Class.

Dugger is a former district attorney in western Oklahoma and both Kimzeys hold unprecedented world records in the Professional Rodeo Cowboy Association.

All four of this year’s honorees are natives of western Oklahoma and have a common denominator in ranching.