SWOSU Foundation’s John T. Patterson Memorial Scholarship Benefits Students

John T. Patterson Memorial Scholarship recipient
The John T. Patterson Memorial Scholarship at Southwestern Oklahoma State University was recently awarded to Mary Iliff of Shattuck. With Iliff are (from left) John’s brother and sister-in-law, Zach and Emily Patterson, both SWOSU graduates, and their son Henry.

The SWOSU Foundation is fortunate to have many benefactors who over the years have set up various scholarship funds to assist Southwestern Oklahoma State University students on both the Weatherford and Sayre campuses.

One of the scholarship funds, the John T. Patterson Memorial Scholarship for Social Sciences, is awarded annually at SWOSU, and the 2016-2017 recipient is Mary Iliff, a political science major from Shattuck.

The Patterson family established the fund to memorialize John, a SWOSU graduate. John was tragically murdered in 2009 in Oklahoma City, and sister-in-law Emily Patterson said the family wanted a way to memorialize John. They were having trouble finding the appropriate avenue but had the epiphany that it would be great to do something at SWOSU, where John spent some of his most memorable years.

Emily said John loved history so nothing was more appropriate than starting the scholarship fund.

The scholarship strives to help exceptional students with additional funding. The Patterson family hopes the scholarship will aid students in reducing work hours, buying books, graduating earlier, and generally helping with undergraduate expenses.

The John T. Patterson Memorial Scholarship for Social Sciences can be given entirely to one student or split between two students. In 2016-2017, the award was given to Iliff. SWOSU Department of Social Sciences Chair Dr. John Hayden assists in the scholarship process.

Previous recipients of the John T. Patterson Memorial Scholarship are Carla Salcido, Brian Trent and Barry McCleod, all criminal justice majors; Thomas Blakeley, a political science major; and Sarah Barton, a history major.

The SWOSU Foundation was established in 1977 to promote philanthropy and distribute funds to support the activities and programs of SWOSU. Located on the Weatherford campus in the historic Burton House, the Foundation currently stewards over $20 million in assets for the benefit of SWOSU. For more information about the John T. Patterson Memorial Scholarship Fund or any SWOSU Foundation funds, please contact SWOSU Foundation Programs Officer Robbin Jennings at 580-774-3267 or visit www.SWOSUFoundation.com.