High School and College Jazz Bands Participating at SWOSU Festival

Sixteen high school and college jazz bands will participate in the Southwestern Oklahoma State University Jazz Band Contest on Friday, February 10, as part of the SWOSU Jazz Festival activities on the Weatherford campus.

The 47th annual SWOSU Jazz Festival will feature Friday concerts at 1 and 8 p.m. in the Fine Arts Center on the SWOSU campus. Featured guests this year are legendary trombonist Bill Watrous and the Stockton Helbing Trio. The guest artists will perform a free concert on Thursday night, February 9, at 7 p.m. in the Berrong Recital Hall.

Tickets for the 1 and 8 p.m. concerts are $10 for general admission, $5 for seniors and $3 for students and are on sale at the SWOSU Music Office, Room 100, in the Fine Arts Center on the SWOSU campus. Tickets will also be available before the concerts. The two concerts will feature the guest artists as well as the SWOSU Jazz Ensemble “A”.

Two clinics, which are open to the public and free of charge, will be held by visiting artists in the Hilltop Theatre on Friday: Stockton Helbing will do a Jazz Drums clinic at 11 a.m. and Bill Watrous will be featured at 3 p.m.

The SWOSU Jazz Festival is presented by the SWOSU Department of Music with the assistance of the Oklahoma Arts Council, National Endowment for the Arts and the City of Weatherford.  For additional information, contact the SWOSU Music Office at 580-774-3708.

The public is invited to the following performances of bands. The lineup of bands and directors for the SWOSU Jazz Band Contest is:

SWOSU Fine Arts Center Auditorium

9:00 a.m. Duncan High School Jeramy Haas
9:30 a.m. Del City High School Floyd Haynes
10:00 a.m. Verdigris High School Dustin Brown
10:30 a.m. Del City High School Floyd Haynes
11:00 a.m. Stockton Helbing-Jazz Drums Hilltop Theatre
11:30 a.m. Verdigris High School Euell Hanna
12:00 p.m. Clinton High School Melinda Tarkington
12:30 p.m. Midwest City High School Mark Hensley
1:00 p.m. Jazz Festival Concert Fine Arts Auditorium
2:00 p.m. Oklahoma Christian Univ. Heath Jones
2:30 p.m. Cordell High School Steve Smith
3:00 p.m. Bill Watrous Clinic Hilltop Theatre
3:30 p.m. Guthrie High School Rob Blackburn
4:00 p.m. Yukon High School Toni Myers
4:30 p.m. Ardmore High School Mark Smithey
5:00 p.m. Sulphur High School Sean Johnson
5:30 p.m. Bethany High School Steve Sharp
6:00 p.m. Sulphur High School Dixie Sean Johnson
6:30 p.m. SWOSU Jazz Ensemble “B” Alexander Davis
8:00 p.m. Jazz Festival Concert Fine Arts Auditorium