Honors Orchestra Concert Featuring Oklahoma High School Students is Saturday at SWOSU

Honors Orchestra Concert Featuring Oklahoma High School Students is Saturday at SWOSU

Forty-one high school students from around the state will join Southwestern Oklahoma State University students in a SWOSU Honor Orchestra concert this Saturday, March 25, on the Weatherford campus.

The 6 p.m. concert in the Fine Arts Center is open to the public, and admission is free.

Guest conductor at the concert will be Peter Markes, who was Oklahoma’s Teacher of the Year in 2014 and is conductor of the Edmond North High School Orchestras. 

Dr. Alex Lee, assistant professor at SWOSU, said the concert will feature many exciting orchestral pieces and will be enjoyable for area residents.

High school students participating are:

Alva High School, Alva

  • Noah Place (Trombone)

Ardmore High School, Ardmore

  • Jarett Mitchell (Double Bass)
  • Deon Knight (Double Bass)
  • Alexis Smith (Viola)
  • Candace Witt (Viola)
  • Katlyn Green (Cello)
  • Trader Johnson (Cello)
  • Colin Caudle (Cello)

Broken Arrow High School, Broken Arrow

  • Megan Oshiro (Viola)

Deer Creek High School, Edmond

  • Mikayla Sweet (Trumpet)

Edmond North High School, Edmond

  • Isabella Mullaney (Violin)
  • Ashton Barnes (Violin)
  • Taylor Weatherwax (Violin)
  • Lauren Wong (Violin)
  • Evynn Steele (Violin)
  • Joshua Brock (Viola)

Edmond Santa Fe High School, Edmond

  • Andrew Howse (Trumpet)

Lawton MacArthur High School, Lawton

  • Marissa Thomason (Viola)
  • Justin Santos (Viola)
  • Sierra Ratliff (Viola)
  • Scott Cox (Viola)

Norman North High School, Norman

  • Sarah Stout (Violin)

Putnam City High School, Oklahoma City

  • Brianna Johnson (Violin)
  • Kimiya Shirinbar (Violin)
  • Joana Moraz (Violin)
  • Jayla Jones (Violin)
  • Jennifer Deloera (Double Bass)
  • Augustus Mathews (Double Bass)
  • Tia Spotwood (Cello)
  • Jobey Richards (Cello)

Putnam City West High School, Oklahoma City

  • Sydney Borkins (Double Bass)
  • Trinity Davis (Cello)
  • Robert DeWeese (Violin)
  • Demarrie Kirvin (Violin)
  • Dalton Madden (Violin)
  • Christopher Monterroso (Cello)
  • Sydney Montesano (Horn)
  • Joshua Pagach (Trombone)
  • Yarlemy Preciado (Cello)

Yukon High School, Yukon

  • Merriah Moore (Percussion)
  • Gloria Atoyebi (Percussion)