John A. Foust Memorial Scholarship Established with SWOSU College of Pharmacy

John FoustThe John A. Foust Memorial Scholarship has been established with the Southwestern Oklahoma State University Pharmacy Alumni Foundation in Weatherford to provide an annual $1,000 scholarship to a deserving SWOSU College of Pharmacy student.

Friends and colleagues from around the United States of SWOSU College of Pharmacy graduate John Foust established the fund to honor him and his dedication to the pharmacy profession. Foust passed away February 26, 2017, leaving behind his wife, Susan (a 1977 SWOSU pharmacy graduate), a daughter, two sons, four grandchildren and a host of family members and friends.

SWOSU College of Pharmacy Dean David Ralph said the scholarship is a fitting tribute to Foust, who was the executive director of the Oklahoma State Board of Pharmacy since 2008 and a great supporter of the SWOSU College of Pharmacy.

Foust of Wyandotte received an associate degree from Northeastern Oklahoma A&M College in 1974, a bachelor’s degree in chemistry and his Bachelor of Science degree in pharmacy from SWOSU in 1977.  He was awarded his Doctorate in Pharmacy in 2001.

Foust worked as a pharmacist for more than 30 years, including hospital, retail and consulting. He became executive director of the Oklahoma State Board of Pharmacy from 2008-2016.  During his tenure as executive director, Foust was honored with election to the National Association of Boards of Pharmacy. The Oklahoma State Board of Pharmacy, under his leadership, was honored with the National Association of Boards of Pharmacy Fred Mahaffey Award.  The Mahaffey Award is given annually to one board of pharmacy from the United States, Australian and Canadian Provinces that has demonstrated the most outstanding program for the protection of the health, safety and welfare of their citizens. 

Foust received numerous professional awards during his career, including the Bowl of Hygeia Community Service Award from the Oklahoma Pharmacists Association in recognition of his lifelong commitment to community service, Pharmacist of the Year Award from the Oklahoma Society of Health-System Pharmacists, and the SWOSU Outstanding Pharmacy Alumnus Award.

SWOSU Pharmacy Alumni and Development Director Patti Harper said the creation of this scholarship will honor Foust’s legacy of dedication to the pharmacy profession for years to come as it benefits SWOSU pharmacy students.

For more information or to give to the Pharmacy Foundation, contact Harper at 580.774.3190 or

In 1974, the Pharmacy Foundation was incorporated for the purpose of financially supporting the educational endeavors of the SWOSU College of Pharmacy.