Students from Woodward, Sweetwater and Erick Win Timed WARP

Students from Woodward High School, Sweetwater High School and Erick High School were the top three finishers at the recent Southwestern Oklahoma State University-Sayre’s annual Timed WARP (Writing and Research Program) writing competition.

Solomon Davis of Woodward won first place and a $600 scholarship for the essay "The Importance of Government Regulation."  Davis was accompanied by WHS teacher Morgan Plummer.

Sweetwater’s Hannah Hill won second place and a $500 scholarship for her essay “Hats Off to Video Cameras for Police Officers.”  Hill was accompanied by SHS teacher Marsha Richardson. 

Suraj Patel of Erick won third place and a $400 scholarship with the essay “Hats off to Some Solutions to Pollution.”  Patel was accompanied by EHS teacher Robyn Whaley.

SWOSU-Sayre Language Arts Instructor and Timed WARP Director Terry Ford said the Timed WARP is a chance for high school students to compete for a scholarship, to get feedback on their writing from college instructors and to familiarize themselves with the Sayre campus.  

“I really appreciate all of the teachers who took time out of their busy schedules to allow their students this opportunity to shine, as well as the opportunity to win a valuable scholarship to further their educations,” Ford said.

The attending high school teachers were presented with a continuing education workshop given by Jan Davis, head of archives for the Oklahoma Department of Libraries. All of the visitors to campus were treated to breakfast and lunch, entertained with games and awarded prizes.

Ford expressed thanks to co-chair, Assistant Professor and campus Librarian April Miller, along with Dean Sherron Manning and all of the SWOSU-Sayre faculty and staff for helping with the day’s activities.