Content Loading

Education Scholarships and Awards

Scholarships awarded through the University Foundation are identified with an (F) following the description. Information and applications for Foundation scholarships may be obtained from the Office of Institutional Advancement (Burton House). All other scholarships and awards are administered by organizations, academic departments and schools. Contact the department chair for additional information.


Dean's Scholarship

This is an academic scholarship designed to attract and retain Teacher Education Candidates from underrepresented communities. The amount of the Scholarship is $500.

Burcham Sisters Scholarship

The scholarship fund was established by Grace and Pearl Burcham, Blanche Burcham Cox, and Mable Burcham Hamburger to provide financial assistance for Elementary Education majors.

Future Teachers Scholarship

Click to view details.

Janzen-Jarvis Scholarship

This scholarship program provides assistance to students with special interest in service to the handicapped. The fund was established by Rudy and Gladys Janzen, members of the SWOSU Distinguished Alumni Hall of Fame.

Kappa Delta Pi Scholarship

The recipient of this scholarship must be a member of Kappa Delta Pi for financial assistance in the amount of $100.

Kathy Dick Simpson Scholarship

This scholarship program was established by James A. Dick in memory of his sister. The scholarships are awarded to women Elementary Education majors with a strong commitment to teaching.

Kristi Rozell Memorial Scholarship

A scholarship program established in 1989 to honor the memory of Kristi Rozell. The fund was established by Kristi’s classmates, friends, and family to provide scholarship assistance for Teacher Education students at SWOSU. The applicant must be a female Special Education major. (F)

Sherman Garrison Memorial Scholarship Fund

Established by Edwardene Garrison for a full-time student and a U.S. citizen with home residence in Oklahoma. Credit to financial need may weigh in the student evaluation. Student must have been accepted into the Department of Education and maintain a minimum GPA of 2.5. The scholarship will be for two years; amount to be determined by the rate of earnings.

Standifer and Ona Keas Scholarship

A scholarship established for the Department of Education. It is to be awarded to a U.S. citizen with a home residence in Oklahoma. To be based on merit and need, awarded to a student planning to enter the teaching or education administration field, graduate or undergraduate level. (F)

Teacher Loan Forgiveness Program

Learn about the teacher loan forgiveness program.

Teacher Shortage Employment Incentive Program

Click to view details.

Vicki N. Park Memorial Scholarship

A fund established by family and friends of Vicki. It is to be awarded to a full-time junior or senior Elementary Education major with minimum 3.0 GPA and be a U.S. citizen with a home residence in Oklahoma. (F)

Other SWOSU Scholarships

For more scholarships available at SWOSU, visit the Student Financial Services site.

Graduate Awards

  • Outstanding Community Counseling Student Award
  • Outstanding School Counseling Student Award
  • Outstanding School Psychometry Student Award
  • Gary H. Gilliland Outstanding School Psychology Award
  • Outstanding LPC Student Award