Content Loading


Scholarships awarded through the University Foundation are identified with an (F) following the description. Information and applications for Foundation scholarships may be obtained from the Office of Institutional Advancement (Burton House). All other scholarships and awards are administered by organizations, academic departments, and schools. Contact the department chair for additional information.

Arthur L. Shuck Award

An award is given each year to the outstanding freshman Biological Sciences student as determined by competitive examination. This award honors the first faculty member to retire from the department.

Audubon H. Neff Award

This memorial award honoring a former chair of the department is given each year to a student who has demonstrated high academic achievement in pre-professional studies.

Beta Beta Beta Award

The Delta Sigma chapter of the national biology honor society and the biological science faculty select the outstanding senior Biological Sciences major each year to receive this award.

Charles G. Torbeck Student Service Award

This award is given each year to a Biological Sciences major whose service to the Biological Sciences Department, campus, and community merits recognition. The award honors a former Southwestern graduate, Dr. Charles Torbeck, D.D.S.

F. K. “Skeet” Carney and Dr. Henry Kirkland Jr. Scholarship

This scholarship was established by Dr. Wade McCoy and his wife Sarah McCoy, both SWOSU alumni, to help deserving biological science or pre-healthcare students at SWOSU. The scholarship honors Dr. Henry Kirkland Jr., Professor Emeritus Department of Biological Sciences, and his mentor F.K. "Skeet" Carney.

Hobart F. Landreth Award

This memorial award is presented to a student who has demonstrated an aptitude for original research and independent thinking as evidenced by active participation in meritorious research. The award honors a former Biological Sciences faculty member.

James Brown Memorial Scholarship

A scholarship program established as a memorial to James Brown, a 1978 pre-med graduate. The fund is designed to provide financial assistance to pre-med students from Harper and Beaver counties. (F)

Mary M. Miller Award

An annual award from the estate of the late Mary Miller is presented to a student who has demonstrated outstanding academic achievement in wildlife studies. (F)

Otis King Memorial Scholarship

A scholarship established as a memorial to Otis King, a field biologist at SWOSU in the late 1950’s. The scholarship will be funded on the basis of academic merit and need. Recipient must be a full-time, regularly enrolled student in good standing working toward a Biological Sciences degree, and a U.S. citizen. (F)

Ottis and Buena Ballard Scholarship

This scholarship is for a full-time student and Biological Sciences major that has completed 60 semester hours. Financial need and academic merit are considered. (F)

Ryan Peters Memorial Fund

This fund was established by Casey Peters in memory of her husband. The scholarship will be awarded to a student pursuing a science or pre-med degree. They must be a U.S. citizen with a home residence in Oklahoma. It will be funded on the basis of academic merit and need. (F)

Other SWOSU Scholarships

For more scholarships available at SWOSU, visit the Student Financial Services site.